SWD Head Umpire
Kottia Spangler
Southwest Division
Head Umpire

To earn the title, prospective umpires must pass written and practical tests.

Umpires are tested and certified for a period of five years by the Bowls USA National Umpire in Chief (the Southwest's Melanie Vizenor). Congratulations, Melanie, on your selection for this distinctive position.

Learn more about umpires and umpiring at the Bowls USA website.

Southwest Division Men & Women Umpires

The men and women division umpires and club affiliations are shown below. If your name should be on the list but isn't, let us know.

(printable page with just names and clubs)

 note: click on Green column headings to re-sort the chart 
Adams, Beverly Laguna Woods  
Alexander, Micky Sun City  
Cronshaw, James MacKenzie Park  
Cronshaw, Patricia MacKenzie Park  
DeFazio, Candy Long Beach  
DeLisle, Sam MacKenzie Park  
Dunn, Phil Santa Monica  
Edwards, Vern Alhambra  
Flahive, Paul Hermosa Beach  
Hargraves, Tom Newport Harbor  
Harris, Howard San Diego  
Horowitz, Howard Beverly Hills  
Jolly, Morris Long Beach  
Kagan, Bill Oaks North  
McMorris, Sean Alhambra  
Moore, David Riverside  
Morton, Eileen Santa Barbara  
Nunes, Anne Newport Harbor  
Olson, Jim San Diego  
Quo, Ed Newport Harbor  
Roberts, Linda Laguna Beach  
Roberts, Scott Laguna Beach  
Santos, Tony San Diego  
Spangler, Kottia * Riverside  
Stewart, Heather Laguna Beach  
Studwell, Brian Santa Monica  
Thompson, Mary Casta del Sol  
Vizenor, Melanie ** San Diego  
Winfield, Jean Laguna Woods  

* = Head Division Umpire
** = National Umpire in Chief




by Melanie Vizenor, National Umpire in Chief

According to World Bowls Umpire Development (Version 4), January 2015, on
page 10 of 64 under Common Procedures for Conducting a Measure, the
following procedure is preferred:

"(n) Remove from the head the bowl that you have decided is shot and tell
the players your decision. Remove the jack if it is a no-shot."


To Flip, or Not To Flip?

by Kottia Spangler, Division Umpire

First Rule of Thumb….anytime you have a question about a rule of play, take the time to look it up*!

Of course, once an umpire has been drawn in, you must abide by the umpire’s ruling.

When you have a tied end (before the completion of the game), rule 18.4 is executed.  “…the winner of the previous scoring end should place the mat and then deliver the jack and the first bowl”.

Rule 41.4 states that if the first end is declared tied, the first to play in that end should also play first in the second end.

In set play, rule 15.2 on page 22 of the Laws of the Sport of Bowls shall apply.

When a winner needs to be declared, and the game has ended in a tie, refer to rule 45, on page 50:  “…skips should toss a coin and the winner will decide who should play first…”.  The extra end should be played from where the previous end was completed.

If an extra end is declared dead, law 31.3 will apply.  “if the end is declared dead, the first to play in that end should also play first when the end is replayed”.

*As a member of Bowls USA, the book “Laws of the Sport of the Game” is yours in exchange for your membership in the national organization.